Wastewater treatment

Wastewater is collected through various drains, transported through the wastewater network, and captured at wastewater treatment plants.

If untreated, wastewater will go septic and can create unhygienic and hazardous conditions. Therefore, wastewater must be treated to safeguard public health and the environment.

A typical wastewater treatment process comprises of the following stages:

  1. Preliminary treatment
  2. Primary treatment
  3. Secondary Treatment
  4. Tertiary treatment and disinfection

BRC’s wastewater treatment network

Council has a commitment to provide best sanitary services to safeguard public health and the Environment.

Bundaberg Regional Council currently operates eight (8) wastewater treatment plants (WWTP) under an Environmental Licence governed by the Department of Environment and Science.

  1. Bargara WWTP
  2. Childers WWTP
  3. Gin Gin WWTP
  4. Lake Monduran WWTP
  5. Millbank WWTP
  6. Rubyanna WWTP
  7. Thabeban WWTP
  8. Woodagate WWTP

Page feedback

Was this page useful?
Are you on Mobile or Desktop?