

# Statutory Post-Election Meeting

15 April 2020

# **Minutes**

2.00 pm

# **Civic Centre Supper Room**

#### Present:

Cr JM Dempsey (Mayor - Chairman), Cr JP Bartels, Cr WR Trevor OAM, Cr WA Honor, Cr TM McPhee, Cr GR Barnes, Cr TM McLoughlin, Cr VJ Habermann OAM, Cr SA Cooper, Cr MBE Mitchell and Cr JD Learmonth

Leave of Absence: Nil

#### Officers:

Mr SD Johnston, Chief Executive Officer
Mr SJ Randle, General Manager Infrastructure
Mr GJ Steele, General Manager Community & Environment
Mrs AK Pafumi, General Manager Organisational Services
Mr M Ellery, Group Manager Development
Mrs C Large, Chief Legal Officer
Mrs WE Saunders, Executive Services Co-ordinator
Miss CE Dobbins, Executive Assistant/Researcher
Mrs B Kurtz, Executive Assistant



15 April 2020

Item Number:	File Number:	Part:
C1		Councillors

# Subject:

Declaration of Conflicts//Material Personal Interests

No interests were declared.



15 April 2020

Item Number: File Number: Part:

D1 . EXECUTIVE SERVICES

### **Portfolio:**

**Executive Services** 

# Subject:

**Declaration of Office** 

#### 2484

#### Resolution

Cr JM Dempsey moved:-

That it be noted that pursuant to Section 169 of the *Local Government Act 2009*, the Declaration of Office was made by

- ❖ His Worship The Mayor, Cr John Mark Dempsey
- Cr Jason Phillip Bartels (Division 1)
- Cr William Robert Trevor OAM (Division 2)
- **❖ Cr Wayne Arthur Honor** (Division 3)
- Cr Tracey Maree McPhee (Division 4)
- Cr Gregory Richard Barnes (Division 5)
- Cr Tanya Maree McLoughlin (Division 6)
- **❖ Cr Vincent John Habermann OAM** (Division 7)
- Cr Stephen Ashley Cooper (Division 8)
- Cr May Britt Elenora Mitchell (Division 9)
- Cr John Douglas Learmonth (Division 10)

in the presence of the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Stephen Johnston – and that copies of the declarations, noting the date and the method the declaration was taken, are retained and recorded by the Chief Executive Officer.

Seconded by Cr WA Honor.



15 April 2020

Item Number: File Number: Part:

D2 . EXECUTIVE SERVICES

# **Portfolio:**

**Executive Services** 

# Subject:

Appointment of Deputy Mayor

# 2485

# Resolution

Cr SA Cooper moved:-

That Cr WR Trevor be nominated for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Seconded by Cr VJ Habermann.



15 April 2020

Item Number: File Number: Part:

D3 . EXECUTIVE SERVICES

### **Portfolio:**

**Executive Services** 

# Subject:

Setting of Days and Times for Meetings

#### 2486

#### Resolution

Cr JM Dempsey moved:-

#### That the first:-

- Ordinary meeting of Council be held on Wednesday 29 April 2020, commencing at 10.00 am, and thereafter generally on the last Tuesday of each calendar month; and
- Council Briefing meeting be held on Wednesday 22 April 2020, and thereafter on the Wednesday preceding the Ordinary meeting of Council.

Note that due to the current restrictions in place for the COVID-19 risk, these meetings will be held in the Civic Centre Supper Room until social distancing restrictions have been lifted.

Seconded by Cr JP Bartels.



15 April 2020

Item Number: File Number: Part:

D4 . EXECUTIVE SERVICES

## **Portfolio:**

**Executive Services** 

# Subject:

Nomination for Election as District Representative to the Local Government Association of Queensland Inc's Policy Executive

#### 2487

## **Resolution**

Cr WR Trevor moved:-

That Council nominate Cr JM Dempsey for election as District Representative to the Local Government Association of Queensland Inc Policy Executive for the 2020 – 2024 term.

Seconded by Cr GR Barnes.



15 April 2020

Item Number: File Number: Part:

D5 . EXECUTIVE SERVICES

#### **Portfolio:**

**Executive Services** 

# Subject:

Appointment to Local Disaster Management Group

The Mayor advised this item will be moved in 3 parts.

#### 2488

## **Resolution**

Cr WR Trevor moved:

That Council nominate Cr JM Dempsey for election as Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group for the 2020 – 2024 term.

Seconded by Cr SA Cooper.

The motion was put – and carried unanimously.

#### 2489

# **Resolution**

Cr WA Honor moved:-

That Cr GR Barnes be appointed as Deputy Chairperson on the Local Disaster Management Group.

Seconded by Cr VJ Habermann.

# 2490

# **Resolution**

Cr JM Dempsey moved:-

That the current arrangement whereby the Councillors for Divisions 2 and 3 act as Chair of Childers and Gin Gin Disaster Management Sub-Groups respectively continue.

Seconded by Cr JP Bartels.

The motion was put - and carried unanimously.

Meeting held: 15 April 2020



15 April 2020

Item Number:	File Number:	Part:
V1		Meeting Close

# **Subject:**

Meeting Close

There being no further business – the Mayor declared this Statutory Post-Election Meeting closed at 2.10 pm.

Confirmed on 29 April 2020.

Mayor			